Back to Juba

After a lengthy summer hiatus, while I gave some conference papers and tidied up my affairs in England, I’m back to posting, and I’m back to Juba.

I’m starting a six month period of Arabic study, which I’m going to spend in Juba, learning modern standard Arabic in classes and trying to pick up Khartoum Arabic from my friends from Khartoum. At the same time, I’m going to be back working at the National Archives of South Sudan. I’m working with the RVI on a six-month emergency intervention – the umpteenth the archive has seen over the years – and will be trying to manage the final eviction of the archives from the USAID tent. I’m really hoping to finally get to go through the 1980s and 1990s documents that we were just, just piling up when I left earlier this summer.

So! I’m in Nairobi, getting things together for a move back to Juba. The blog will be a bit more active from now on.

1 Comment

Filed under Arabic, Archives, Blogging, South Sudan, Travel

One response to “Back to Juba

  1. Tongu D'e Richard

    Welcome back!

Leave a Reply

