Juba Nail Art: space age claws, sparkly leaves and French wiggles

20130209_104945

 

Juba working hours – at least for many of us – are six days a week, over 12 hours a day; so I prioritise my Saturday morning nail bar sessions.  The nail bar, as I may have mentioned, is a wooden bench on the porch of a pharmacy in the middle of Souk Libya in Munuki, the suburb of Juba that I live in, just opposite the cucumber-and-stock-cube seller and along from the dried fish section.
20130209_105017

I am currently a fan of the “Juba French”, as I have named it with the nail artist, Joseph; I am currently sporting the dots version of the style above, with dots of white replacing the wiggly line.

20130218_142241Sarah has joined me from Durham University here in Juba, to help work on the South Sudan National Archives while researching her thesis among the boxes.  She is an enthusiastic (if grubby) addition to the queue at the nail bar.

 

2 Comments

Filed under Domestic bliss, Procrastination, South Sudan, Travel

2 responses to “Juba Nail Art: space age claws, sparkly leaves and French wiggles

  1. Must Have Boxes

    I love your pedi! Very cute nail design.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

  2. eleuthera40

    Damnabbit, I miss your toes xxx

Leave a Reply

