Moving the past in Juba

DSCF4300

 

 

This is probably not the advised method of moving archives around a town; but we have too much paper and we’re trying to resort 2000 files from Equatoria Province in a small house with no air con.  Give us a break.

DSCF4302

But at least I’ve managed to recruit a large number of interested archaeology/history students from Juba University!  Marlene, our indefatigable, classy and highly organised visiting South Sudanese student doing an MA at Makerere, organised a field trip today to the tent, where nearly 20 well-dressed students got down and dirty trying to sort loose paper into something resembling safely bundled piles ready for transfer to a less, well, horrible place.

DSCF4305DSCF4310

 

And early next week I’m giving a talk on the archives project at Juba University, mostly to the History students, and also taking the Catholic University students on a tour of Munuki’s archive collection.  Basically the thing that will save the archives in the long term is sustained local pressure and interest; in my last six weeks working on the archives, this is what I’m going to try to start up.

3 Comments

Filed under Academia, Archives, South Sudan

3 responses to “Moving the past in Juba

  1. Last six weeks working on the Archive, Nicki? Beg to differ, but think you and Sarah are in this for life….! Great stuff, looks really good.

  2. Hello, I do think your website may be having browser compatibility
    problems. Whenever I take a look at your website in Safari,
    it looks fine however when opening in I.E., it’s got some overlapping issues.
    I simply wanted to provide you with a quick heads
    up! Other than that, great site!

    • Oh dear – I don’t think there’s much I can do since I’m using a wordpress platform. I’m afraid IE is a pretty bad browser in general, though… but thanks for the comment (and the compliment)!

Leave a Reply

